Skip to main content
United States Department of State
Diplomatic Reception Rooms
Diplomatic Reception Rooms
The Rooms
The Collection
Support Us

 Secretaries of State Gallery 

Gradually, through the last century and a half, the Department of State has accumulated a collection of portraits in oils of the former Secretaries of State. This collection is little known.  It is located next to the Secretary of State Office and carries over into the Treaty Room Suite.

The Department’s collection of portraits includes a painting of each Secretary of State from Thomas Jefferson, who took office in 1790, to Colin L. Powell.  In addition there are portraits of Robert Livingston, First Secretary of Foreign Affairs (1781-1783) under the Continental Congress and John Jay, Secretary of Foreign Affairs under the Continental Congress in 1784, acting Secretary of State until Thomas Jefferson was sworn in March 22, 1790.

Secretaries of State
Robert R. LivingstonJohn JayThomas JeffersonEdmund RandolphTimothy PickeringJohn MarshallJames MadisonRobert Smith James MonroeJohn Quincy AdamsHenry ClayMartin Van BurenEdward LivingstonLouis McLaneJohn ForsythDaniel WebsterAbel P. UpshurJohn C. CalhounJames BuchananJohn Middleton ClaytonDaniel WebsterEdward EverettWilliam L. MarcyLewis CassJeremiah Sullivan BlackWilliam Henry SewardElihu Benjamin WashburneHamilton FishWilliam Maxwell EvartsJames G. BlaineFrederick FrelinghuysenThomas F. BayardJames G. BlaineJohn Watson FosterWalter Q. GreshamRichard OlneyJohn ShermanAlvey A. Adee (1842-1924)William Rufus DayJohn Milton HayElihu RootRobert BaconPhilander Chase KnoxWilliam Jennings BryanRobert LansingBainbridge ColbyCharles Evans HughesFrank KelloggHenry Lewis StimsonCordell HullEdward Reilly StettiniusJames F. ByrnesGeorge Catlett MarshallDean Gooderham AchesonJohn Foster DullesChristian Archibald HerterDavid Dean RuskWilliam Pierce RogersHenry A. KissingerCyrus R. VanceEdmund Sixtus MuskieAlexander Meigs Haig Jr.George P. ShultzJames A. Baker IIILawrence S. EagleburgerWarren M. ChristopherMadeleine K. AlbrightColin L. Powell
Use your mousewheel over the gallery section to scroll more quickly
  Diplomatic Reception Rooms